I FROZE MY ASS OFF FOR THIS?

A slight exaggeration. It was pretty chilly, and definitely un-June-like to those who have never had to stay up all night watching frost as part of their job description. I could have solved my problem by bringing my coat, which I left in my mother’s basement (where I allegedly write my missives) in my hurry to get out the door.

Blue Jays 8, Phillies 3 (in 10)||| BOX SCORE ||| DASH’S RECAP |||

It also would have been nice if the bullpen hadn’t walked 8 batters, and Madson could have closed the game out in a timely fashion.

Speaking of ‘timely fashion,’ this post is late, so everything that should have been said or written has already been said or written. Hamels needs to work later, hell, all of the starters need to work later, and this bullpen is exhausted. All-Star break can’t come soon enough, as far as I’m concerned – even though it’s four days of useless pageantry and meaningless baseball that does more harm than good. It’s a Depression-era tactic to save baseball that stuck around because people get boners over one guy playing with another guy.

Excuse me, but if I wanted to watch a bunch of stars playing together on an irrelevant team, I’d be a Yankees fan.

That’s right, I said it: I’m anti-Yankees, anti-Interleague play and anti-ASG. I’m also anti-Angels beating Lincecum, which is what’s happening right now as I write this.

Speaking of Angels, what do you think it would take to get John Lackey?

My tangents are going off on tangents.

Jimmy Rollins had two hits last night, including a lead-off double down the left field line. Utley scored him on the next at-bat. What’s unusual about this, besides the whole Jimmy-Rollins-looks-at-some-pitches-picks-the-right-one-then-gets-on-base-and-then-scores thing, is that the Phillies failed to win a game where J-Roll scores. So congratulations, Blue Jays. A perfect storm of factors occured where you could win one of your last seven games. Don’t expect it to happen again.

And a shout-out to the fellas in left field who made the bottom of the 10th a long one for Adam Lind. It really took the edge off a shitty game.

Tug Haines (@mistertug)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

