SHANE’S BIG BONER

Shane Caught Stealing

Now that I have your attention for all the wrong reasons, let me ask you this, faithful reader: what the hell was Vicky thinking? I was at this game last night, and around the bottom of the 6th I was thinking, no magic tonight. Wasn’t feeling it. Then a fight broke out over God knows what in section 420, and when Manuel came out to chat with the umpire, two waves began simultaneously, one clockwise and one counter-clockwise. The crowd was picking up energy. When Lindstrom took the mound, even before Shane’s 5-pitch walk, there was a crackling of electricity – it was the first time since Howard’s 2nd shot that I started to believe in a comeback. Things were verging on pandemonium when Philly’s favorite Canadian stepped up to the plate: then Shane done fucked up.

Had I been in control of the sound effects at the Bank, I would have played this particular sound. Once Shane was cleared from the field, Lindstrom got his sac back and took care of the next two outs easily.

Everyone should know by now that The Pineapple Express isn’t the sharpest knife in the drawer, including Lopes and Manuel. You can bet some good money that they’re going to tighten his leash in similar situations in the future.

But it’s also important to consciously grasp that Stairs wasn’t necessarily going to repeat his storied late-inning heroics. The whole team, save Howard, was looking pretty flaccid all night, offensively. But Victorino scapegoated himself with a poor decision.

I’ll leave you with this poll, mostly because I couldn’t tell from where I was sitting, do me a favor and ‘Phill’ me in (see what I did there?).

TUG

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

