CHARLIE WON’T NAME NAMES, BUT I WILL

First of all, let me introduce myself. My name is Tug, and I am a die-hard Phillies fan from the Pines of South Jersey. My man Chris here is kind enough to let me post my opinions here on this fine blog. If you’d like, you can find me on Facebook (Tug Haines) or Twitter (mistertug).

My likes are sushi, bacon cheeseburgers, cats and dogs, Photoshop, and hate.

My dislikes are the Mets, ESPN, and the writers for Sports Illustrated.

I’m a man of many words, so let me start with 9 – many of them surnames:

Victorino

Werth

Utley

Howard

Rollins

Ibanez

Feliz

(Catcher)

(Pitcher)

My point is this: Get J-Roll the hell out of the leadoff position. At least for now. I know he’s the so-called “pied piper of wins” for the Phils, but this is April 2009 and he’s been the pied piper of DICK so far. Hey Jimmy, if we wanted someone to swing for the fences on each game’s first pitch, we’d have Feliz or Stairs leading off. Just drive the ball and get on base, asshole. It’s bad news when your 2009 OBP is lower than Mario Mendoza’s career OBP (39 points lower).

Look, I don’t mean to say James won’t get right. But he’s doing the team no good at #1 for the moment. And he seems to respond pretty well to threats to his prestige (i.e., benching). The whole team needs a reality check, and if you check the de facto offensive leader of these men, it stands to reason that the rest will fall in place.

– Tug

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “CHARLIE WON’T NAME NAMES, BUT I WILL

  1. I think that lineup could work. Maybe having Jimmy bat 5th will give him a bit of a kick start. The asshole batted .450 in the WBC…

  2. Stef

    That’s always been his problem; when he gets in a slump, it’s when he’s been swinging at first pitches. Maybe Charlie shook them up a little; last night seemed to help.

  3. Hey Tug – nice first post here. I Like SVic in the leadoff spot, but I am not sure about JRoll at 5. He’s hitting SO badly he wouldn’t offer Howard much in the way of protection in the lineup. Keep up the good work.

  4. You have a good point, CP, but you want J-Roll in the right place at the right time when he explodes. But hell, put him at #6 and he could be a 2nd inning leadoff man. You taking notes, Uncle Chollie?

Leave a Reply

