COLE IN QUESTION

Well now Cole’s status for Opening Day is listed as a “long shot” and that sucks pretty hard. It looks like now Brett Myers is destined to start Opening Day and we all know how that went last year. But also I would like to point out a little known fact. Every year Myers gets the Opening Day start, we win the NL East. Chew on that. It tastes good.

OPENING DAY STARTER?

OPENING DAY STARTER?

Yesterday Myers went 5 and 2/3 IP and didn’t give up a run whilst striking out 7. Now I am kind of upset that Hamels won’t be there to guarantee a Opening Day win but on the other hand this is the first year since 2003 that I do not have Opening Day tickets. Instead I had to settle for tickets on the 7th and 8th so maybe I will be lucky enough to get Cole on one of those games. This is important because in 2007 and 2008 I was subject to a curse of sorts. It seemed every game I went to I ended up having to watch Adam Eaton. I was even at the game where Rod Barajas, yes fucking Rod Barajas, hit a grand slam off Adam Eaton and in doing so matching his RBI total with the Phillies all in one game so I’ve earned every Hamels start I get to watch. But I digress; point is that whether it be Myers or Hamels starting Opening Day I think the Phils are in good hands.

Here is today’s lineup against the Blue Jays according to the man who gives me shit to write about, Todd Zolecki:

1. Chase Utley, 2B
2. Miguel Cairo, SS
3. Greg Dobbs, RF
4. Jayson Werth, CF
5. Matt Stairs, LF
6. Pedro Feliz, 3B
7. Chris Coste, 1B
8. Ronny Paulino, C
9. J.A. Happ, P

Anyone who reads this blog must go vote for We Should Be GM’s for best blog name. Their name is what got me into them because they were able to personify how EVERY baseball fan feels. We all think we could do a better job than Wade, Gillick, Amaro, etc…with us all probably being right about doing it better than Wade. So please do me the favor and go vote for them because that is a title they are more then deserving of. If you don’t go vote for them then this guy is going to show up at your house and touch your children. OK that was probably over the top…

One last thing. I did not think I would get into the World Baseball Classic as much as I have. Last night’s game against Puerto Rico was amazing. That 9th inning come back was great, fueled by a single from Victorino and a walk to load the bases by J-Roll. But the bread winner of the night was David Wright, who came up to the plate with the bases loaded and 1 out and managed to single instead of do what he and his team does best. It was weird seeing Vic and Rollins maul Wright on a game winning hit, but still I was able to put my Mets hatred aside and be proud that USA has advanced and knocked off the Mets Puerto Rico. How about seeing Vic and Rollins in that high pressure 9th inning going against JC? It was pretty intense and well worth watching.

-Chris

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “COLE IN QUESTION

  1. Thanks for the support bro. Glad to know we inspire someone.

  2. Cool tournament. Some of those blog names aren’t very good, and are even played out at this point.

    Long Drive is improving each week, by the way.

  3. Alex

    Ha! I was at that game against the Blue Jays when Barajas cranked that Grand Slam. Not only did I curse Eaton but Barajas too for never doing that while wearing Phillies pinstripes.

Leave a Reply

