SLIGHTLY DISTURBING, SLIGHTLY AROUSING, COMPLETELY CONFUSING

WE EVEN ROCK THEIR GOOFY COLORS BETTER THAN THEM

WE EVEN ROCK THEIR GOOFY COLORS BETTER THAN THEM

Earlier today, the700level linked to an interesting story on Comcast Sportsnet’s website about the “who’s obsessed with who” debate that has recently caught fire between the Philadelphia and New York fanbases. Before I even began to read the story, though, my eyes were attracted to an image on the page of what appeared to be a Mets shirt. After throwing up a little in my mouth, I realized that the logo actually featured the Philadelphia skyline and the word ‘Phillies’. At first I didn’t know what to think of the seemingly blasphemous use of the word ‘Phillies’, but after pondering it for a while, I chuckled a bit. You have to admit that it is a clever spin on the generic emblem and knowing Mets fans, this shirt would kickstart their period on-sight. And if something pisses Mets fans off, consider me a fan.

I can’t tell you much about the origin of the shirt, but my sources tell me that you can find and buy one for yourself (if you wish) on South Street. My guess is that a group of sly Phils fans who ventured up to Shea to see a Phillies-Mets game came up with the shirts as a way to show their loyalty to the away team without drawing the ire of the local inbreds fans. That or it’s the first step in a gradual process that allows Mets fans to step off the bandwagon of a choker and onto the bandwagon of the World Series Champs.

– Corey

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “SLIGHTLY DISTURBING, SLIGHTLY AROUSING, COMPLETELY CONFUSING

Leave a Reply

