PHILS-METS PREVIEW: GAME 1

PHI: LHP Jamie Moyer (0-0, 7.36 ERA)
Moyer had a rough outing to begin the season, allowing six runs, three earned, on nine hits over 3 2/3 innings. The Phillies’ veteran left-hander will look to rebound against the Mets, a team he’s 6-3 against in his career with a 2.87 ERA in 14 appearances. At Shea Stadium, Moyer is 3-3 with a 2.59 ERA in eight outings.

NYM: LHP Oliver Perez (1-0, 0.00 ERA)
A tough lefty such as Perez might not be a welcome sight for the Phillies’ inconsistent offense, which showed signs of life in Monday’s series finale against the Reds. Perez allowed just five hits and no runs in his first start in Florida. He walked one and struck out eight over six innings.

Well here it is ladies and gentleman. What I have been waiting for since the schedules were announced. PHILLIES VS. METS. Phils-Mets games have taken on a playoff type atmosphere since last year, almost Yanks/Sox like. This rivalry really is great and there is no team I love to hate more than the mets. The best thing about tomorrow is that a W for the Phils and we have officially crapped all over the Mets final home opener at the litter box that is Shea Stadium. I hope this game is a complete blow out. I hope by the 3rd inning that we are up at least 8 runs and Mets fans are walking out, nothing would please me more. If I wasn’t so close to getting fired I would call out tomorrow just to watch the game, but alas calling out 3 times last week to attend all 3 of the Phils opening games has put me on thin ice. True commitment here. My self appointed ban from Pro Sports Daily Phillies Forum (look for member gimmead) ends today and it’s perfect timing so I can enjoy a nice Phils/Mets thread full of shit talking. I’ll post as soon as I get home from work at 4:30pm when the game has just ended I’m sure. Here’s a little video to pump everyone up for tomorrow:

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “PHILS-METS PREVIEW: GAME 1

  1. Kjerky

    I’m liking Perez’s 4.85 career ERA against the Phils. I like his 5.40 ERA in 07 vs the phils even better.

    Another + is Burrell is a .353 hitter off of him with 4 homers. A – is Howard is only hitting .100 off of him.

    Let’s get this series started!

Leave a Reply

