BRAD LIDGE ON DL, PHILS DOWN JAYS, RAPED BY YANKS

BRAD LIDGE PLACED ON THE 15 DAY DL RETROACTIVE TO MARCH 21ST

This shouldn’t be too much of a surprise, even though everything was going so well. Since this is retroactive to March 21st that means he’s eligible to come back April 5th, the first game of the series against the Reds. The surgery was on Feb 25th, so in the end it will be about a 5 week recovery, which was expected. Gordon has looked good his past couple spring outings, being used in the 9th, so I don’t think there is any reason to panic here. Gordon had this to say:

“I’m already ready, as long as I’m healthy,” Gordon said. “Things have been going well for me this spring. I haven’t had any setbacks, thank God. I think it worked out well enough to where the team needed me at any time or any position, I can get the job done and not worry about whether my shoulder or my elbow is going to nag me.”

I had to bold the msot important part of that statement cause we never really know what we’re going to get…

*

PHILS DOWN BLUE JAYS 15-7 BATS COME ALIVE

The Phils beat the Toronto Blue Jays 15-7 on Sunday with a barrage of offense including 4 home runs. Chase Utley got things going witha  solo homer in the 1st, SS prospect Jason Donald belted 2 3-run homers and Helms added a 2-run homer. Yes, you read correctly, Wes Helms hit a home run. Geoff Jenkis, Pedro Feliz, and Carlos Ruiz also added run scoring hits. Hamels wasn’t too sharp though. He went 4 shutout innings until the 5th came and he gave up 5 runs and was chased from the game.

As far as the Phils and Yankees game yesterday I don’t even want to talk about it. So, here’s the box score. Enjoy.

*

Right now I am working on my take on the competition for the 2 last bullpen spots. Expect it up later today or tomorrow morning. Also I will have my quick review of Chris Coste’s book The 33-Year-Old Rookie up very soon. These are all fully written down just not put up yet because I have had a fever the past couple days, thus explaining why I’m writing on 2 spring training games at once and Brad Lidge. If there are typos in this post forgive me, I’m hopped up on nyquil pretty heavily right now.

And no that is not really me. It is some poor soul on google images who is feeling my pain.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

