PHILS LOSE AGAIN, 11-2 TO TWINS

HOWARD HOMERS BUT THAT WASN’T ENOUGH

Well the lovely trend continued of the Phils losing basically every spring training game. This loss has been brought to you by J.D. “The Waste of Life” Durbin. He gave up 5 ER in 3 IP and has now, in my mind, officially pitched his way out of a spot. The good news from this game is Eaton started the game and pitched 3 scoreless innings giving up 5 hits with no walks and 1 strikeout. Castro followed Durbin and gave up 2 ER in 2 IP and Knotts gave up 4 ER in 1 IP. Marvelous work. Burrell also had a big fly in this game and Rollins and Utley both hit doubles. I’m sure Manuel is having that team meeting right about now trying to get these guys to wake up. If we were losing 12-10 it would be a different story because it would just mean that our pitching is living up to their rep and so is our offense. But since we are losing by a lot of runs and scoring barely any it is obviously disturbing. The Phils are now tied for last place in the Grapefruit League with the Pirates. GO PENNSYLVANIA BASEBALL!

UPDATE: Manuel spoke out on J.D. Durbin’s performance in today’s game, he had this to say:

“The jobs are right there in front of them,” Manuel said. “If they don’t get them, that’s their fault. There are chances for these guys, and when you go over and tell them, they act like I did good or something like that. Be realistic about some things. I’m tired hearing guys say they did something good when all you got to do is watch the game. Is that one of my favorite sayings? If you’ve got any mirrors in your house go look at them.

Durbin responded with this:

“I look in the mirror every day,” Durbin said. “I try to find myself more than anybody. I lost that fire that burns inside me. I still go out there and compete 100 percent, but I don’t have that over-the-top kick-ass Brett Myers attitude and I think that’s hurting me.”

So in review Durbin is a complete waste and Manuel called him out on it. More on this tomorrow I’m sure.

ME, IF THIS CONTINUES INTO THE SEASON…
1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “PHILS LOSE AGAIN, 11-2 TO TWINS

  1. Fred

    OK, no fire left for Durbin? B’bye…time to cut him or send him to AA/AAA….get his lazy *** outta the bigs…

Leave a Reply

