SOMEBODY DO SOMETHING

If I’m going to go out there and address [mental errors] there’s a lot of other crap I should be addressing, too.

Charlie Manuel (via Todd Zolecki)

Rays 10, Phillies 4

||| BOX SCORE ||| DASH’S RECAP |||

So, Charlie, why don’t you address all of it? Can we make a list?

  1. Fucking everything

That seems to sum it up.

I can’t do anything about any of this. I can sit here and bellyache all I want, my temper tantrums aren’t going to make them win. Don’t know what happened to this team. The best thing I can come up with is blaming Interleague Play. They just can’t pull it off during regular season. And I had such high hopes about it this year.

Frankly, I’m disgusted.

They went into their homestand with a 4-game lead on the NL East. They proceeded to lose the next 4 series, 2 of them home sweeps. And yet they still maintain a tenuous half-game lead on the 2nd-place Mets, who have had more problems with injuries than the Phillies, and have managed to scrap and play respectable ball.

So the Phillies are the ‘best’ team in the 2009 NL East at the moment. To rip off Doug Stanhope, “that’s like being the prettiest Denny’s waitress. Just because you’re the best, doesn’t mean you’re any good.”

I’m sorry to say it, but this team sucks right now. And player’s manager or not, Charlie better lose his cool with these guys quick.

Or manage a game standing on his head.

Or have everyone bleach their pubes to show solidarity.

Just do something different, this is getting ridiculous.

- Tug Haines (@mistertug)

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “SOMEBODY DO SOMETHING

  1. Lynniemac

    “The best thing I can come up with is blaming Interleague Play. They just can’t pull it off during regular season.”

    Great point. When the World Series started last year I remember thinking the Phillies didn’t have a chance…solely because of their eternal suckitude in interleague play.

Leave a Reply

